Attention Paranormal Community
As part of our ongoing public service, we sometimes come across websites that are less than honest. One such website is paranormalnights.co.uk. The other day, we were notified by a pingback. That is to say that somebody linked to our website. It provided us with a link to the page where the link was placed. To our surprise, we discovered that the Reverend Sinthyia Darkness’ news article that she granted us permission to publish here had been stolen and republished here.
A link to our website (or any other) is by no means the proper way to credit any author for their hard work. If we should move or delete the page, who is going to know who wrote the article? Inability to track down sources of information is a huge problem in the paranormal community and this incident has diminished the integrity of that article. Also, they never obtained permission to publish the material from the author.
The original news article appears here at the Examiner News.
Our church has sent notification to the administration of paranormalnights.co.uk, who have thus far completely ignored us. Rev. Sinthyia is very protective of her work and her name and has taken further measures to get her property removed from this website.
Meanwhile, if anyone reading this has published any work about the paranormal on the Internet, we urge you to visit that website and see if you recognize any of the content that they are publishing. If you do, contact support@ukhost4u.com as sending letters to the website administration is worthless.
The IP address for this website, 188.64.184.5 has been blacklisted here to prevent further theft.
Our sincerest apologies to Rev. Sinthyia.
I read your post and , having the same thing just happen tome elsewhere, was sufficiently irked and checked via your link and searched their blog listing and it appears they have removed it from their page. All of their articles are copy/paste jobs from other sites. Chronic “share” button plagiarism is making it impossible to keep your work as a writer untainted or be referenced properly. I look forward to reading more both on the examiner and when I pop in to read the blog!
~ Sarah
Hi Sarah. Thank you for your comment. Yes, plagiarism is a very big problem on the internet. Some people seem to think it’s okay to take things and publish it as their own work. This website has removed this article and they did apologize to the author for doing this. Unfortunately, we have discovered an even bigger plagiarist. This is a man who calls himself a “bestselling author” by the name of Gregory Branson Trent. He apparently is a Publish America author (how many book could he have possibly sold? lol) Reverend Sinthyia caught him using her work and many other authors as well. What he does is he removes a sentence out of the original works that would tell everybody that he did not write these articles. Just Google his name and you will find blogs hosted by Blogger.com. Go through those posts. We have found that he “borrowed” from other published works, actually in print, not just visible on the Internet. The question then becomes, what stolen work could he have possibly published with Publish America and in these self published E-books of his on Amazon.com?